Moody Professor Selected as 2021 AAAS Fellow

Lee Ann Kahlor, a professor at the Moody College of Communication, has recently been selected as an AAAS Fellow for 2021 for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). “Kahlor is a senior faculty research associate at the Center for Media Engagement and a professor in the Stan Richards School of Advertising & PR in the Moody College of Communication at UT Austin.” (Center for Media Engagement UT Austin). 

Kahlor received her Bachelor of Arts in Writing from the University of Wisconsin – Madison and then went on to receive her Master’s in Journalism from Marquette University and a Ph.D. in Mass Communication from UW Madison as well. Kahlor’s research focuses on how people seek, avoid, and share information on science and health topics. In addition, she also researches communities that are vulnerable to disease. Kahlor currently teaches Advertising Research to upper-level communication students and the Psychology of Advertising to those beginning their academic careers at Moody.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science was founded in 1848 and new “AAAS Fellows are elected each year by their peers serving on the Council of AAAS, the organization’s member-run governing body. The title recognizes important contributions to STEM disciplines, including pioneering research, leadership within a given field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations, and advancing public understanding of science.” (Center for Media Engagement UT Austin).

When talking to Kahlor about this amazing accomplishment she states, “I was elected by my peers on the council of AAAS. So it was a pleasant surprise! It is a lifetime honor and some famous fellows include W.E.B. DuBois and Thomas Edison.”

Congratulations Professor Kahlor everyone here at the Moody College of Communication celebrates this amazing accomplishment and cannot wait to see what else is to come!